TOPIC:

Zuperman, what is your vision for DF? 7 years 8 months ago #339065

• [NLR] McFate
  • [NLR] McFate's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Don't believe everything you think.
  • Thank you received: 5398
Zup: Do you have an opinion you'll share of your thoughts and vision on what would make a better game?

I've been playing for nearly 4 years now and have been part of many debates about how the game should be played. Mainly I rely on your statement from a while back: "Let others have fun and you'll have fun". My idea of fun is to play smart and develop tactical flying skills. I encourage people to use their heads to come up with strategies instead of just going into the meat grinder. Some want casual games that they can play after work or while drinking or whatnot, while others want it to be more of a strategic, thinking game where many different skills have more of an influence. It's obviously not as simple as 'one way or the other', the real answer is probably in between and a combination of both. The thing is that many design issues present a dilemma for appeasing both crowds.

Things like having the larger kill boxes around planes makes for more of a simple shooter type game, while having ballistic drop encourages closer engagements. The trees and clouds being solid adds more complexity and options... Judging by many things you have implemented over the years I'd say that you are a supporter of strategic complexity but you are also trying to keep the simple-game people happy.